Loading Events
Find Events

Upcoming Events...

Events List Navigation

May 2016
$16

The Emerging Voices Author Evening Series

May 16 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Chevalier’s Books,
- 126 N North Larchmont Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90004 United States
+ Google Map

PEN Center USA’s Emerging Voices Fellowship is celebrating its 20th anniversary in 2016. To commemorate this milestone, we are opening our Author Evening Series–– which was formerly open only to current Fellows––to the public. These intimate evenings will feature authors discussing their books and the art and craft of writing. Chevalier’s Books in Larchmont Village (Los Angeles, CA) will host the Author Evening Series, which will be free to all new and existing PEN Center USA members. You may also…

Find out more »

Frances Stroh, with Jillian Lauren, discusses and signs Beer Money: A Memoir of Privilege and Loss

May 25 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Book Soup,
8818 Sunset Blvd.
Los Angeles, 90069 United States
+ Google Map

In the tradition of Rich Cohen’s Sweet and Low and Sean Wilsey’s Oh the Glory of it All, a memoir of a city, an industry, and a dynasty in decline, and the story of a young artist’s struggle to find her way out of the ruins. Frances Stroh’s earliest memories are ones of great privilege: shopping trips to London and New York, lunches served by black-tied waiters at the Regency Hotel, and a house filled with precious antiques, which she…

Find out more »
August 2016

BlogHer

August 6 @ 10:30 am - 12:00 pm
JW Marriott LA Live,
900 W Olympic Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90015 United States
+ Google Map

Publishing & Writing: Crafting Your Memoir or Personal Story, for Online, for Future Publication Event Date: August 6, 2016 - 10:30am - 12:00pm Conference Day: Day 3 Conference: #BlogHer16: Experts Among Us Conference Track: Publishing and Writing A memoir is more than one long diary entry. Instead, it’s a well-crafted account that tells who you are without sentimentalizing your story. In this session, our panelists will help you: Tell your personal stories in a compelling, readable and relatable way Use…

Find out more »
October 2016

Story & Soul Ojai Retreat Fall 2016

October 23 @ 5:00 pm - October 26 @ 10:00 am
Villa Ojai,
802 Canada St
Ojai, CA 93023 United States
+ Google Map

Sun, Oct 23, 2016 5:00pm Wed, Oct 26, 2016 10:00am Explore your story, ignite your creativity, and take your writing to a new level with an intensive, skill-oriented writing retreat with acclaimed authors Claire Bidwell Smith, Jillian Lauren and Jenny Feldon. Workshop topics include creative process, outlining and narrative structure, the art of storytelling, voice and tense, and a detailed exploration of the publishing process from finding an agent to marketing your book. Each full workshop day will include shared…

Find out more »
+ Export Listed Events